Excitment of the day.

VERT_SFX_cvr1_54b95134ea8867.48025842

I have been writing small essays of recent on this blog, but I have some exciting news for the day. I got home from work and found a package waiting for me. Contained within said package was five copies of the Vertigo Quarterly SFX Pop! As many of you know, my short comic Pop-Up is contained within the pages of this awesome book.

This has been one of the best experiences of my life. Most of you know that I have built my life, to a great extent, around comic books. I started reading them when I was nine, and haven’t stopped since. So for me to actually be able to say that I have had the opportunity to write comics professionally is far and away one of the coolest things ever.

I would like to use today’s piece to thank some awesome people. David Hahn, your art is awesome. You did an amazing job of interpreting what I wrote and translating it to the page. Thanks to Andrew Dalhouse, whose color work really made the book pop. Rowena Yow, thank you for your awesome editing skills. You really pushed me to think hard about what I was putting on the page. Shelly Bond, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this fantastic book.

To all of the creators who contributed to the anthology; I have read your pieces and they all rocked. Keep doing your art.

To anyone who wants a copy, they will be available at your local comic shop on Wednesday the 29th.

Now, I am off to re-read all of those fantastic stories.

Leave a Reply

